Dr. Julian Garritzmann

Post-Doctoral Researcher / Deputy Professor
Julian also is a Senior Researcher at the Chair of Swiss Politics and Comparative Political Economy at the University of Zurich, Prof. Silja Häusermann


Bio

Julian L. Garritzmann (* 1986), born in Köln (Cologne). Attended the Geschwister-Scholl Gymnasium in Pulheim and the Riverside High School in Greenville, South Carolina. Afterwards, he studied Political Science, Philosophy, and German literature and language at the University of Cologne. In 2011 he received the degree of a Magister Artium (grade: "with distinction"). Topic of the thesis: "Parliamentary Oppositions - comparing opportunity structures". During his studies he worked as a student assistant at the Chair of Comparative Politics of Prof. Dr. André Kaiser in two research projects: the DFG-funded project "The Dynamics of Interparty Competition" and a group preparing the project "Time Horizons in Democratic Politics". In 2008 research internship at the Max-Planck-Institute for the Study of Societies, Cologne. From August 2011 to July 2014 Doctoral Researcher at the Chair of Political Science with a special focus on Policy Analysis and Political Theory at the University of Konstanz, as part of a research team within the Emmy-Noether-Projekt "The Politics of Education and Training Reforms in Western Welfare States". Since January 2013, associate member of the Graduate School of Decision Sciences, University of Konstanz. During the fall term 2013, Julian was Visiting Fellow at the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, Harvard University. Hitherto, Julian is Associate Member of the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS) at Harvard. Since September 2014, Julian is Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Konstanz. In September 2014, Julian got awarded the JESP/ESPAnet Doctoral Researcher Prize. In January 2015, Julian defended his dissertation and completed his PhD with the best grade (summa cum laude). Since February 2016 Julian holds a Dual Affiliation as Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Konstanz and as Senior Researcher at the University of Zurich.

Research Interests

My research interests lie most of all within the field of Comparative Politics and Comparative Political Economy. Here, I am especially interested in three elements and their interaction:

- education systems and policies: How and why do politico-economic actors shape education systems? Which goals do they pursue? Which actors are successful in influencing the education systems? What (re-)distributional consequences do different education systems and education policies have? In particular, I'm interested in higher education across the advanced economies.

- political parties and party competition, in particular party competition over educational and social policies: How can we measure party positions in this field? How do parties behave strategically to maximize policy, votes, and office? How do parties compete over welfare state policies? Which impact does party competition have on welfare states and education systems? 

- the interrelation of social policies and educational policies: Are education and social policies complements or substitutes? How are they interrelated? How do parties use education and social policies? 

- public opinion towards social investment and social compensation policies (What do voters want? Which social investment and which welfare policies are (un)popular and why? How do people's preferences towards social investment and social compensation play out together? What happens if people are confronted with policy trade-offs, where expanding one policy is only possible at the expense of another?) (see INVEduc Project)

In other research projects, I investigate for example 

- effects of globalization on welfare states (individual preferences, party positions, policy-making)

- the power of parliamentary oppositions and consequences of different power constellations

- the politics behind social investment reforms around the globe, particularly in democratic countries in Western and Eastern Europe, in Latin America, and in Asia (with Silja Häusermann and Bruno Palier) (see The World Politics of Social Investment Project)

Dr. Julian Garritzmann

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter / Lehrstuhlvertreter
Außerdem: Oberassistent am Lehrstuhl für Schweizer Politik und Vergleichende Politische Ökonomie, Prof. Silja Häusermann, Universität Zürich


Portrait 

Julian L. Garritzmann (* 1986), geb. in Köln, Abitur am Geschwister-Scholl Gymnasium Pulheim, zeitweise auch Besuch der Riverside High School in Greenville, South Carolina. Nach dem Abitur Studium der Politikwissenschaft, Philosophie und Germanistik an der Universität zu Köln mit dem Abschluss eines Magister Artium (Juli 2011, Prädikat: "mit Auszeichnung"). Thema der Magisterarbeit: "Parlamentarische Oppositionen - ein Vergleich der Opportunitätsstrukturen". Während des Studiums u.a. tätig am Lehrstuhl für Vergleichende Politikwissenschaft von Prof. Dr. André Kaiser zunächst im DFG-geförderten Projekt "The Dynamics of Interparty Competition", dann Mitarbeit zur Vorbereitung der Forschergruppe "Zeithorizonte demokratischer Politik". Forschungspraktikum am Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung, Köln. Von August 2011 bis Juli 2014 Doktorand und Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei Prof. Dr. Marius Busemeyer am Lehrstuhl für Politikwissenschaft, insbesondere Policy-Analyse und politische Theorie an der Universität Konstanz. Hier vor allem tätig im Emmy-Noether-Projekt "The Politics of Education and Training Reforms in Western Welfare States". Seit Januar 2013 assoziiertes Mitglied der Graduate School of Decision Sciences, Universität Konstanz. Von September bis Ende Dezember 2013 Visiting Fellow an der Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, Harvard University. Seit August 2014 Postdoctoral Researcher am Lehrstuhl für Politikwissenschaft, insbesondere Policy-Analyse und politische Theorie an der Universität Konstanz. Im September 2014 ausgezeichnet mit dem ESPAnet/JESP Doctoral Researcher Prize. Promotion mit summa cum laude abgeschlossen (Januar 2015). Seit Februar 2016 hält Julian Garritzmann eine Dual Affiliation als Postdoctoral Researcher an der Universität Konstanz und als Oberassistent am Lehrstuhl von Prof. Silja Häusermann an der Universität Zürich.

Forschungsinteressen

Meine Forschung liegt vor allem in der Vergleichenden Politikwissenschaft und Vergleichenden Politischen Ökonomie, insb.:

- Bildungssysteme und Bildungspolitik (u.a.: Warum und wie prägen polit-ökonomische Akteure Bildungssysteme? Welche Ziele verfolgen sie? Welche (re-)distributiven Konsequenzen haben Bildungssysteme und -politiken? Welche polit-ökonomischen Akteure setzen sich unter welchen Bedingungen durch und welche Effekt hat dies?)

- Parteien und Parteienwettbewerb, insb. in Bezug auf Bildungs- und Sozialpolitik (u.a.: Wie können wir Parteipositionen messen? Wie verhalten sich Parteien strategisch um policies, votes und office zu maximieren? Wie findet Wettbewerb um wohlfahrtsstaatliche Politik statt? Welchen Einfluss hat Parteienwettbewerb auf Wohlfahrtsstaaten und Bildungssysteme? Eine zentrale Arbeitsthese dabei ist, dass aktuelle Analysen zum Wohlfahrtsstaat und zu Bildungspolitiken oft ein zu simples Bild von politischen Parteien haben, während umgekehrt Forschung zu Party Politics oftmals die zentrale Bedeutung von Bildungspolitik unterschätzt.)

- Zusammenhang von Bildungs- und Sozialpolitik (Sind Bildungs- und Sozialpolitik komplementär oder Substitute? Wie wirken Bildungs- und Sozialpolitik zusammen? Wie nutzen politische Parteien Bildungs- und Sozialpolitiken um die Interessen ihrer Wählerschaft durchzusetzen, resp. Wählerstimmen zu gewinnen?)

- öffentliche Meinung zu Bildungs-, Sozial- und social investment-Politik (Was wollen Wähler eigentlich? Welche Bildungs- und Sozialpolitiken sind populär und warum? Inwiefern überschneiden sich Präferenzen zu verschiedenen Bildungs- und Sozialpolitiken und inwiefern konkurrieren sie? Wie ändern sich Präferenzen, wenn Wähler mit Policy-Zielkonflikten konfrontiert werden?) (siehe INVEduc Projekt)

In weiteren Forschungsprojekten untersuche ich u.a.

- den Einfluss von Globalisierung auf Wohlfahrtsstaaten (Individualpräferenzen, Parteipositionen, Policy-Making)

- den Einfluss parlamentarischer Oppositionen in entwickelten Demokratien und Konsequenzen der unterschiedlichen Einflussmöglichkeiten

- die Politiken hinter social investment Reformen in demokratischen Ländern West- und Osteuropas, Latein Amerikas und Asiens (mit Silja Häusermann und Bruno Palier).